It is a destination steeped in rich history and offers one of the most breathtaking views of Port of Spain and the sea beyond. Formerly called La Vigie, the fort is situated on the northern hills of St. James, which overlooks the incomparable waters of the Gulf of Paria.
Fort George was built in 1804 by then British Governor, Brigadier General Sir Tomas Hislop and was commissioned as protection against the Napoleonic fleet.
In addition to the stunning vista, visitors can enjoy the well-preserved structure which is still home to the original cannons, dungeons and artifacts of the day.
A signal station built in 1833 and designed by Prince Kofi Nti, son of King Kofi Calclai of Ashanti, West Africa, still sits on premises. It remained in operation until November 1964. The building underwent major restoration in 1965, three years after Trinidad and Tobago gained its independence from Britain.
Fort George was part of a complex of fortifications which consisted of sea defences and a series of supporting batteries. The batteries on the lower slopes were the York, Princess Charlotte, Abercromby and Cambridge. To the North above the Fort, was Cumberland.
The fort was considered impregnable and was the major defensive position on the island. However, it never experienced military action. When war was rumoured, the merchants of Port of Spain stored their records and valuables at the fort.
The fort ceased to be a military establishment in 1846.